Anger issues till I’m red in the face

As I look for things that may not be the way I want them in myself, I keep coming back to something I have been dealing with since high school. My anger is not a prominent thing but when it does come up it is a problem. I have never really known why it gets so bad. I get annoyed at things that others do but they seem to effect me long after I should have moved on. I’ve blown up at my family at times. I am never really sure why I react like that since most of the discussions should never really end like that. The only thing I can really figure is that its a defense mechanism. I show anger when I am feeling vulnerable so that I might be able to get myself out of that kind of situation. Of course it never really worked but I kept doing it.

But of course the vulnerability idea doesn’t really explain the times I can get severe road rage (the best example I have). Those times where something simple just really pisses me off. I realize that it is a common occurrence in today’s time but I do think that (in me at least) it is not a good thing to get that pissed. There have been times where I have gotten that angry with my wife in the car but thankfully she tries to calm me down so I can concentrate on the other people driving. There is more to this and I want to get to the bottom of this. I think finding the cause is a good thing. I don’t need to find a way to deal with my anger. I just need to not let it affect me. I have read studies that I seem to hold up that trying to release your anger only amplifies the amount of anger that you feel (I think I really explained that wrong). They say that just trying to relax and let anger go is better than trying to find a healthy way to express it. In a way turning the healthy expression into something unhealthy. And as I sit here listening to George Carlin’s album Occupation Foole on vinyl that just relaxing really is a good idea. Though finding the source of the short fuse is also a good idea. I shall update you on the search when I have something.

Thank you for your time.

2 Comments

  1. “The only thing I can really figure is that its a defense mechanism. I show anger when I am feeling vulnerable so that I might be able to get myself out of that kind of situation. Of course it never really worked but I kept doing it.”

    I feel the same way. Reading your words is like re-visiting my own thoughts on this subject. I am interested to see what you find – please keep us posted.

    • Except in these lower points I have never really had any thought to stop posting.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

